

Community Schools Alliance 399 Ridout St. N. London, Ontario N6A 2P1 www.communityschoolsalliance.ca

## Media Release

Contact: Doug Reycraft FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Phone: (519) 287-2015

Email: reycraft@mdlsx.ca

August 19, 2009

## ENTHUSIASTIC SUPPORT AT THE COMMUNITY SCHOOLS ALLIANCE INAUGURAL MEETING

OTTAWA, ONTARIO: The inaugural meeting of the Community Schools Alliance, held during the annual Association of Municipalities (AMO) Conference in Ottawa this week to a standing room only crowd, was a great success.

Doug Reycraft, Chairman of the Community Schools Alliance addressed the enthusiastic standing room only gathering of municipal leaders about the importance of a "smart moratorium" for disputed school closures. "We need to send a strong message to the Minister that the continued loss of educational public infrastructure in our communities is not acceptable and therefore, we need a smart moratorium now".

Lord Mayor Burroughs of Niagara-on-the-Lake and a member of the Community Schools Alliance Executive said "I am extremely pleased with the turnout. Over 200 municipal leaders took time out of their busy AMO schedules to show their support. This is precisely the kind of commitment we need to move this important community development issue forward with the province."

A copy of the full inaugural meeting presentation is available at the Community Schools Alliance website at <a href="https://www.communityschoolsalliance.ca">www.communityschoolsalliance.ca</a>.

During the meeting, the Executive Committee for the Community Schools Alliance was confirmed by the attendees. The Executive Committee for the Community Schools Alliance is comprised of the following municipal leaders:

Chair Doug Reycraft, Mayor, Southwest Middlesex John R. Wilson, Mayor, Malahide Township Doug Shearer, Councillor, Town of Cobalt Gary Burroughs, Lord Mayor, Niagara-on-the-Lake Jim Collard, Councillor, Niagara-on-the-Lake Michael Power, Mayor, Town of Greenstone Ron Emond, Mayor, Hastings Highlands Tony Guergis, Warden, Simcoe County Cam Jackson, Mayor, Burlington Chris White, Mayor, Guelph / Eramosa